Groenwald a semifinalist for Hermann Trophy

St. John’s graduate student Matt Groenwald was named to the list of 15 semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy on Wednesday. The Hermann Trophy, which is the official National Soccer Coaches Association of America player of the year award for Division I competition, is regarded as college soccer’s version of the Heisman Trophy.

Groenwald, the team’s leader in goals (five) and points (14) this season, has been a preseason pick and semifinalist for the trophy in each of the last two seasons.

Groenwald and University of Maryland forward Jason Garey are the only two players from last year’s group of semifinalists to repeat this year. The graduate student is aiming to become the second St. John’s player in three seasons to win the award. Chris Wingert was the first player in St. John’s history to win the award when he did it during the team’s run to the 2003 national championship semifinals.

Wingert was also named the men’s soccer Academic All-American of the Year in 2003, and Groenwald made it back-to-back honors for St. John’s when he won the award last season. Groenwald is again up for Academic All-America consideration, along with St. John’s graduate student Sebastian Alvarado-Ralph. The two garnered first-team Academic All-District selections earlier this month and became eligible for Academic All-America voting. Votes will be tallied and results will be released next week.

The St. John’s men’s soccer team is making a 14th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and begin first round play at home against Marist on Friday night at 7:30 p.m.